Project Update

I have taken some time over the last couple of weeks to think of what I wanted to do for my project. Originally, I looked at it as a simple collection of profiles that looked at the specifications of the instruments musicians used and talked briefly about their history. But, I have re-imagined the concept of my project. Now I want to address the significance of these instruments to history, and their place within music history. The one example I thought of specifically was Woody Guthries acoustic guitar that had the words “This Machine Kills Fascists” painted on the side of it.  This example was really important in my shift in thinking towards this project. I had thought about the specifics of the instruments and how advancements in technology were relevant as a topic, but then I realized that these instruments had a more important place within history. Having such a strong political statement written on the side of his instrument, especially in this time period, is extremely significant. I want to address this kind of angle when I create the profiles in my project.

The instruments will make note of key moments in history and what they represented to cultural movements in their respective periods. Another example I thought of was George Harrison’s custom painted guitar from his Concert at Bangladesh performance. Although it was a Fender Stratocaster, with no specific modifications made to it other then paint, it represented a moment in which the music community was starting to take on political issues in a different way then they had in the past. So rather then simply listing off different musicians I like and their instruments, I will create a database with specific examples that are significant.  Musicians have the ability to make an instrument iconic, and my goal with this project to list as many examples as I can that have done just that.

One thought on “Project Update

  1. Hey Alex. I really enjoyed your presentation today. You seem to have a good handle on what you’re planning to do. Meaning, your goals are practical and fairly specific. I like how you’re focusing only on significant changes or beginnings of musical instruments and their variations in rock and popular music. I am curious about which instruments you will be specifically covering? You had mentioned guitars, drums, and the sitar. Which others will you be covering? Will you include information on the significance of the venue where an instrumental (pardon the pun) change in music took place? Or will you be framing a discussion around the reasons behind a particular artist’s choice to utilize a specific instrument at a specific time or place? Overall, your project sounds great. I look forward to checking out the final product.

Leave a comment