Project Update

After looking at the online tutorial, I have chosen Omeka as the web publisher for my project. It seems easy and practical, and  it comes with a variety of templates to create your own webpage. The interpretive exhibit style webpage will be perfect for organizing both visual and written components of the project. It is the perfect layout for creating a timeline of famous instruments from the 20th century. I will be able to talk about the evolution of music while also addressing the historical significance of the instruments themselves. Essentially, I want to recreate a digitized version of what I saw on my trip to the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. As a musician, I focused on the exhibits that had the instruments of famous recording artists. Things like John Lennon’s Rickenbacker guitar from when the Beatles played on Ed Sullivan were what fascinated me the most, and I want to create something that completely focuses on that aspect of the museum.

Using Omeka, I will create a multimedia webpage that is a chronologically ordered exhibit of instruments from the 20th century. Each page will have a text box with some historical information about the instrument, a picture with the musician that made it famous and, where possible, a video clip of an important event in which the instrument was used. Now that I have a general understanding of what I have to complete for this assignment I just need to familiarize myself with the Omeka program and see what options and preferences I will have for the interface of my web page. Over the next few days I plan to collect as many good examples of culturally relevant instruments and start up a rough version of what will eventually turn into my final project.

Leave a comment